@Congress of the Mnited States
MWashington, AC 20515

December 11, 2018

The Honorable R. Alexander Acosta
Secretary of Labor

U.S. Department of Labor

200 Constitution Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20210

RE: Comments on the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, RIN 1235-AA22, Expanding
Employment, Training, and Apprenticeship Opportunities for 16- and 17-Year-Olds in Health
Care Occupations Under the Fair Labor Standards Act

Dear Secretary Acosta:

Thank you for the opportunity to submit comments in response to the Department of Labor’s (the
Department) September 27, 2018, Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Expanding Employment,
Training, and Apprenticeship Opportunities for 16- and 17-Year-Olds in Health Care
Occupations Under the Fair Labor Standards Act.

This comment urges the Department to withdraw its proposed rule and instead propose
regulations to codify its evidence-based 2011 nonenforcement policy that allows trained 16-
and 17-year-olds to assist workers 18 years of age or older in the operation of this
equipment.

Proposed Rule

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) prohibits 16- and 17-year-olds from working in
occupations that the Secretary of Labor has declared, through Hazardous Occupation Orders
(HOs), to be particularly hazardous to workers at this age or detrimental to their health or well-
being. Specifically, HO 7 prohibits workers under 18 years of age from operating or assisting in
the operation of several types of hoisting apparatus. In 2010, the Wage and Hour Division
(WHD) requested the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health’s (NIOSH)
assistance “in determining under what circumstances or conditions, if any, 16- and 17-year old
employees can safely operate or assist in the operation of power-driven patient lifts.”! A 2011
NIOSH report concluded, “many 16- and 17-year-old employees cannot safely operate power-
driven hoists to lift and transfer patients by themselves, although they may be able to safely work

! Letter from Nancy J. Leppink, Wage and Hour Division Deputy Administrator, to Dr. John Howard, Director of
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, at 2 (October 21, 2010).
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as part of a team to assist another caregiver to transfer or move a patient/resident.”” NIOSH also
recommended “that two caregivers (one of whom should be an experienced caregiver at least 18
years of age) operate a mechanical lift to transfer a non-weight bearing resident.” In 2011, the
Department issued a nonenforcement policy, based on NIOSH’s conclusions and
recommendations, allowing trained 16- and 17-year-olds to assist workers 18 years of age or
older in the operation of this equipment.*

The Department has proposed to remove the operation of power-driven patient lifts from the list
of prohibited activities for 16- and 17-year-old workers under HO 7, in effect allowing minors to
perform this work independently. As discussed below, the proposed rule lacks a strong
foundation in evidence, undermines the safety of minors, and poses risks to patients.

The Department’s Proposal Ienores Evidence That Independent Use of Power-Driven Lifts
Poses Safety Risks to 16- and 17-Year-Olds

We are deeply concerned the Department is ignoring evidence that allowing minors to operate
power-driven hoists to lift and transfer patients by themselves comes with significant risks.’> The
Department argues that power-driven patient lifts are distinct from other power-driven lifts
banned under HO 7, and thus the risks to minors operating this equipment must be considered
separately.® Yet, the Department’s proposal is in direct conflict with the 2011 WHD-requested
NIOSH report that outlines the specific risks of using this type of equipment.

The Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) incorrectly states that the 2011 NIOSH report “did
not express any specific concerns about the actual operation of the equipment.”” In fact, NIOSH
expressly stated that “many 16- and 17-year-old employees cannot safely operate power-driven
hoists to lift and transfer patients by themselves.”® Additionally, NIOSH identified a number of
concerns, specifically that 16- and 17-year-olds (1) are at an increased risk of injury from
independent use of power-driven lifts,’ (2) do not have the physical strength to independently
place patients/residents in slings or manipulate loaded lifts,'° (3) lack the ability to properly

2 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
(NIOSH), NIOSH Assessment of Risks for 16- and 17-Year Old Workers Using Power-Driven Patient Lift Devices,
at 10 (2011), https://www.dol.gov/whd/CL/NIOSH_PatientLifts.pdf (emphasis in original).

31d at 11.

4 U.S. Department of Labor, Wage & Hour Division, Field Assistance Bulletin No. 2011-3 (July 13, 2011).

5 The Department has acknowledged this risk in the past. In its 2010 request for NIOSH to conduct research, the
Department stated that “WHD appreciates the enormous impact that the use of power-driven patient lifts has made
in reducing occupational injuries to health care workers; but we are concerned that injuries still occur to workers
who operate such equipment—especially to less experienced workers.” 2010 WHD letter to NIOSH at 2.

¢ Expanding Employment, Training, and Apprenticeship Opportunities for 16- and 17-Year-Olds in Health Care
Occupations Under the Fair Labor Standards Act, 83 FR 48737, 48742 (proposed September 27, 2018).

71d. at 48741.

82011 NIOSH Report at 10 (emphasis in original).

Id at 10-11.

07d at 11.
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identify risks of using power-driven lifts,!! and (4) are not protected from risk of injury through
specific training alone.'?

NIOSH also identified the specific tasks of repositioning to be dangerous when it comes to
operating power-driven patient lifts. For example, NIOSH identifies “log rolling” as a
repositioning task needed to place patients into a sling of a patient lift. According to NIOSH,
“[e]xtensive research has documented that manual patient lifting and repositioning tasks result in
high levels of biomechanical stress and place adult worker caregivers at very high risk for
development of low back disorders.”!* NIOSH found this to be the case “even for patients
weighing only 110 Ibs and when two workers performed the task.”!

The Department’s NPRM incorrectly asserts that the only options for young workers are a
complete ban on the use of power-driven patient lifts and manual lifting. However, there is a
third option. The 2011 nonenforcement policy expressly allows young workers to assist in the
operation of the equipment under specified conditions (e.g., with another person who is at least
18 years old). The Department also fails to produce credible evidence that its 2011 policy
encourages manual lifting. The Department cites a 2012 survey of vocational schools by the
Massachusetts Department of Public Health’s “Teens at Work Project” to suggest the current
regulations resulted in an increase in manual lifting, stating more than 60 percent of respondents
perform more manual lifting “due to the change in the law.”!> However, only 21 of 42
respondents answered this survey question, and nearly half of the survey respondents were not
aware of the 2011 nonenforcement policy that allows 16- and 17-year-olds to assist in the use of
patient lifts with someone 18 or older. This casts doubt on whether respondents, who believed
there was increased manual lifting attributable to the current HO 7 Order, were even allowing
16- and 17-year-olds to assist in the use of patient lifts, with someone 18 or older — which was
permissible under the 2011 policy.

The Department’s current 2011 nonenforcement policy is based on NIOSH’s findings that the
use of power-driven patient lifts comes with risks for young workers.!® The Department now
seeks to reverse its 2011 position, asserting that the independent use of power-driven lifts “may
not be particularly hazardous to youth employed in health care occupations or detrimental to
their health or well-being.”!” However, the Department’s proposed rule fails to include data or

7 at11.

2 1d at 10.

15 1d. at 2 (emphasis added).

4 1d. As the 2011 NIOSH study states, there is extensive research documenting the risks to workers from manual
lifting. In 2011, NIOSH recommended that the Wage and Hour Division “consider regulations prohibiting youth
less than 18 years of age from manually lifting residents who cannot bear weight or assist when being transferred.”
Id. at 11. While the NPRM notes the dangers of manual lifting, this proposal does not include bans on such
activities, and we are unaware of any efforts by the Department to act on NIOSH’s recommendations.

15 Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Teens at Work Project, Survey of MA Chapter 74 Schools - Child
Labor Laws Impact” (2012).

16 Field Assistance Bulletin No. 2011-3.

172017 Child Labor Regulations, 83 Fed. Reg. at 48739.
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research that invalidates NIOSH’s findings or otherwise supports this new assertion that this
activity no longer poses risks for young workers.

The Department Relies on Flawed Data to Justify a Deviation from Its Statutory Duty to
Protect Minors at Work

The Department argues its proposal would create more “employment, apprenticeship, and other
training opportunities in health care.”'® While we support increased training and employment
opportunities, such efforts cannot come at the expense of the safety of minors at work.
Accordingly, we are deeply concerned that the Department is relying on questionable data on the
lack of training opportunities to justify a regulatory change that conflicts with the Secretary’s
statutory duty to protect minors at work.

The Secretary has a “long-standing and important statutory duty to ban unsafe working
conditions for minors.”! The Department has in the past, with regard to this specific issue,
acknowledged this statutory duty. Inits 2011 Field Assistance Bulletin, the Department stated
that “[a]lthough WHD appreciates these concerns, when children ages 16 and 17 are employed,
WHD has a statutory obligation under the FLSA to ensure that the work is not hazardous or
detrimental to their health or well-being.”?® Similarly, when WHD solicited NIOSH’s review in
2010, WHD stated “the review must concentrate on whether workers under 18 years of age can
safely operate such hoisting devices without risking exposure to injury.”?' It is unclear why the
Department is now deviating from its statutory duty in this proposal.

A policy to promote apprenticeships does not override the Secretary’s statutory duty to protect
minors at work. Furthermore, through the National Apprenticeship Act, the Secretary’s role is to
“formulate and promote the furtherance of labor standards necessary to safeguard the welfare of
apprentices.”??

In the NPRM, the Department provides questionable evidence to support its claim that its current
policy stifles job and training opportunities. First, the Department cites four congressional letters
to support its assertion that current policy stifles job and training opportunities.”> Two of the
referenced letters were sent to the Department before the 2011 nonenforcement policy was

B1d.

19 “The FLSA, at section 3(1), gives the Secretary the authority and responsibility to identify and declare those
occupations which are “particularly hazardous for the employment of children * * * or detrimental to their health or
well-being.” Child Labor Regulations, Orders and Statements of Interpretation; Child Labor Violations-Civil Money
Penalties, 69 Fed. Reg. 75381, 75396 (finalized December 16, 2004).

20 Field Assistance Bulletin No. 2011-3.

212010 WHD letter to NIOSH at 2.

2229 U.S.C. § 50 (emphasis added).

232017 Child Labor Regulations, 83 Fed. Reg. at 48742. Although referenced in the NPRM, the October 15, 2010
letter from former Congressman Earl Pomeroy does not mention decreased job opportunities.
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issued,?* while the other two letters make no mention of the 2011 policy.?® Thus, it is

unreasonable for the Department to conclude that these lawmakers were asserting that the 2011
nonenforcement policy that allows minors to assist in the operation of power-driven patient lifts
stifles job opportunities.

Second, the Department relies on the 2012 survey by the Massachusetts Department of Public
Health, mentioned above, to assert an adverse impact on fraining opportunities, rather than
safety.*® This survey of vocational schools found that nearly 60 percent of respondents said that
employers had commented about “increased burden placed on their staff due to the restrictions
on students using power-driven patient lifts,” but it is not clear what is meant by “burden.”?” The
fact that nearly half of the survey respondents were not aware of the 2011 nonenforcement
policy casts serious doubts on whether the employers who expressed an increased burden on staff
were allowing 16- and 17-year-olds to assist in the use of patient lifts with someone 18 or older,
as allowed under the 2011 policy. Additionally, the survey question regarding increased burden
had only 22 respondents. This survey — conducted on Survey Monkey — is not available in the
Department’s rulemaking docket, despite congressional requests that it be inserted.?®

The Department’s reliance on this nonscientific survey may violate the Department’s data quality
guidelines — particularly with regards to objectivity — as informed by guidelines from the Office
of Management and Budget.” Specifically, the Guidelines require supporting data be made
available for the public to review and analyze to determine if it is “accurate and reliable.”® The
Department’s failure to make this survey publicly available provides no way for the public to
assess the accuracy and reliability of this data. Further, given the small number of respondents to

24 Letter from former Senator Herb Kohl, Senator Amy Klobuchar, former Senator Mike Johanns, and former
Senator Kent Conrad, to Nancy J. Leppink, Wage and Hour Division Deputy Administrator (December 17, 2010);
Letter from former Congressman Michael Michaud to Hilda Solis, U.S. Secretary of Labor (February 28, 2011).
2> Letter from Congressman Ron Kind and Senator Tammy Baldwin to R. Alexander Acosta, U.S. Secretary of
Labor (December 12, 2017); Letter from Senator Ron Johnson to R. Alexander Acosta, U.S. Secretary of Labor
(June 16, 2017).

262017 Child Labor Regulations, 83 Fed. Reg. at 48737.

27 Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Teens at Work Project, Survey of MA Chapter 74 Schools - Child
Labor Laws Impact” (2012).

28 In an October 2018 letter to Secretary Acosta, House Members requested the Department “make the 2012
Massachusetts Department of Public Health survey publicly available as part of the rulemaking docket.” Letter
from Ranking Member Bobby Scott, Congressman Mark Takano, Congresswoman Rosa L. DeLauro, and
Congresswoman Roybal-Allard to R. Alexander Acosta, U.S. Secretary of Labor (October 30, 2018).

? Guidelines for Ensuring and Maximizing the Quality, Objectivity, Utility, and Integrity of Information
Disseminated by Federal Agencies; Notice; Republication; Office of Management and Budget, 67 Fed. Reg. 452-
460 (February 22, 2002).

30 U.S. Department of Labor, Office of the Chief Information Officer, Guidelines for Ensuring and Maximizing the
Quality, Objectivity, Utility, and Integrity of Information Disseminated by the Department of Labor (October 1,
2002),
https://www.dol.gov/oasam/ocio/programs/InfoGuidelines/informationqualitytext.htm#SCOPE%20AND%20APPLI
CABILITY.
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key questions, there is serious doubt as to whether this survey applies “sound statistical and
research methods.”!

The evidence the Department relies on to deviate from its statutory duty to protect minors at
work does not support the proposal to allow young workers under age 18 to independently

engage in patient lifting using power lifts.

The Department’s Proposal May Endanger Patient Safety

As the Department notes, the use of patient lifts is distinct from other banned devices under HO
7. As NIOSH found, there is more risk and complexity when a power-driven lift moves a
person, rather than inanimate objects. Specifically, a patient’s status can make the task more
complicated. The 2011 NIOSH report lists several factors that contribute to this complexity,
including a patient’s fragile skin or bones, inability to understand verbal instructions, inability to
see or hear, confusion or disorientation, combativeness, or unexpected changes in behavior.*?
NIOSH also noted that changes in a patient’s condition throughout the day require workers to
make key decisions regarding how to safely lift and transfer patients.*’

In 2010, the Department raised concerns about whether minors “can maintain the continuous
level of safety consciousness in a medical care facility work environment that ensures not only
their own safety but that of their patients as well.””** In its report, NIOSH concluded “that most
16- and 17-year old workers do not have the ability to properly assess the risks associated with
using power-driven lifts.”®> Again, the Department offers no data or evidence that contradicts
this NIOSH conclusion. '

We are therefore deeply concerned that this proposal may not only endanger worker safety but
increase risk of injury or death for patients and residents in the more than 15,000 skilled nursing
facilities across the country.>® Approximately 65 percent of nursing home residents rely on a
wheelchair for mobility or cannot walk without significant and consistent support from another
individual.?” Improper use of patient lifts carries a significant risk for individuals who require
assistance with daily activities, such as transferring, walking, or bathing. NIOSH asserts that
“[u]nlike a box or other inanimate object, if a nursing home resident is dropped or mishandled,

sLid.

322011 NIOSH Report at 3.

3 Id. at 4.

32010 WHD letter to NIOSH at 2.

332011 NIOSH Report at 11 (emphasis added).

36 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Center for Health Statistics, Long-Term Care
Providers and Services Users in the United States: Data From the National Study of Long-Term Care Providers,
2013-2014 (February 2016), https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/nursing-home-care.htm.

37 Charlene Harrington, Helen Carrillo, Rachel Garfield, and Ellen Squires, Nursing Facilities, Staffing, Residents
and Facility Deficiencies, 2009 Through 2016, Kaiser Family Foundation, at 2 (April 2018),
https://www.kff.org/medicaid/report/nursing-facilities-staffing-residents-and-facility-deficiencies-2009-through-
2016/.
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severe or fatal injury can occur.”*® The Department’s rejection of NIOSH’s finding that minors
cannot safely perform the work independently puts patients, including older individuals and
individuals with disabilities, at serious risk.

The NPRM fails to include information on these risks, and there is no evidence that the
Department consulted with other agencies about the costs to Medicare or Medicaid from patient-
related injuries as a result of the proposed changes. We recommend that WHD work with the

- Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) to conduct such a risk assessment and
develop cost estimates as part of an economic analysis for this proposed rule.

The Department Should Withdraw its Proposed Rule and Instead Codify its 2011
Evidence-Based Nonenforcement Policy

As the Department has stated previously, the 2011 nonenforcement policy is “consistent with the
Department of Labor's stated goal of balancing the potential benefits of transitional, staged
employment opportunities for young people with the necessary protections for their education,
health and safety.”

In contrast to the Department’s thinly supported proposal at issue here, the 2011 nonenforcement
policy is grounded in NIOSH’s recommendations and a body of research around safe patient
handling.*® According to the FDA, “[m]ost lifts require two or more caregivers to safely
operate[,] lift[,] and handle [a] patient.”*! Similarly, OSHA guidelines recommend teams of two
for these devices, regardless of age.*? The 2011 nonenforcement policy is based on NIOSH’s
recommendation that a caregiver under 18 years of age work with another experienced caregiver
at least 18 years of age to operate a mechanical lift to transfer a non-weight bearing resident.*?

382011 NIOSH Report at 3.

39 Field Assistance Bulletin No. 2011-3. The Department notes that it “considered codifying into the regulations the
restrictions and conditions in its 2011 nonenforcement policy concerning power-driven patient lifts.” 2017 Child
Labor Regulations, 83 Fed. Reg. at 48746.

40 See, e.g., David W. Bacharach, Kyle Millér, and Serge P. von Duvillard, Saving your back: How do horizontal
patient transfer devices stack up? Nursing 46(1): 59-64 (2016); W. Charney, The Lift Team Method for Reducing
Back Injuries, AAOHN Journal 45(6) (1997); Mary Kutash, Manon Short, Joann Shea, and Marisa Martinez, The
Lift Team's Importance to a Successful Safe Patient Handling Program, Journal of Nursing Administration 39(4):
170-175 (2009); Patricia Finch Guthrie, Linda Westphal, Bruce Dahlman, Mark Berg, Kathy Behnam and

Deborah Ferrell, 4 patient lifting intervention for preventing the work-related injuries of nurses, Work 22: 79-88
(2004); Soo-Jeong Lee, Joung Hee Lee, and Robyn Gershon, Musculoskeletal Symptoms in Nurses in the Early
Implementation Phase of California's Safe Patient Handling Legislation, Research in Nursing & Health 38: 183-193
(2015).

' Food and Drug Administration, Patient Lifis Safety Guide at 6,
https://www.fda.gov/downloads/medicaldevices/productsandmedicalprocedures/homehealthandconsumer/homeused
evices/ucm386178.pdf.

#2U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Guidelines for Nursing Homes:
Ergonomics for the Prevention of Musculoskeletal Disorders (2003), '
https://www.osha.gov/ergonomics/guidelines/nursinghome/final_nh_guidelines.html .

#2011 NIOSH Reportat 11.
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For the aforementioned reasons, we urge the Department to withdraw this proposal and instead
codify as a rule its evidence-based 2011 nonenforcement policy.

Sincerely,

Bipdott

ROBERT C. “BOBBY” SCOTT

Ranking Member

Committee on Education and the Workforce
U.S. House of Representatives

P e,
PATTY MURRAY O

Ranking Member

Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and
Pensions

U.S. Senate

Enclosure: 2012 Survey by Massachusetts Department of Public Health



Survey of MA Chapter 74 Schools - Child Labor SurveyMonkey

Laws Impact

1. Does your school have a health care services program?

Response

Percent
Yes | | 81.0%
No [ 19.0%

answered question

skipped question

2. What type of establishments are students placed in? (check all that apply)

Response
Percent
Hospital | | 83.3%
Nursing home/Skilled nursing | | 100.0%
facility i
Assisted living facility | | 62.5%

Other (please specify)

answered question

skipped question

Response
Count

34

42

Response
Count

20

24

15

24

18

3. Approximately how many CNA training hours do students typically complete before

beginning co-op?

answered question

skipped question

1of 10

Response
Count

21

21

21



4. How do students learn how to use lifts for transferring patients? (check all that apply)

Lecture/demo + Hands-on Response
Lecture/demo only o
training Count
The teacher covers it in the
26.1% (6) 73.9% (17) 23
classroom
The teacher covers it in an offsite
S ) 20.0% (4) 80.0% (16) 20
facility, i.e. local nursing home
The employer covers it as part of
30.8% (4) 69.2% (9) 13

the student’s co-op placement

Other (please specify)

1
answered question 23
skipped question 19

5. Were you aware that there had been a change in law related to persons under 18 using
power-driven patient lifts?

Response Response

Percent Count
Yes | 88.0% 22
No [ ] 12.0% 3
answered question 25
skipped question 17

6. Have you seen the US Department of Labor-Wage and Hour Division field assistance
bulletin specifying the conditions under which hoists can be used by persons under the age
of 18?

Response Response

Percent Count
Yes | I 54.5% 12
No | 36.4% 8
Don't know [ ] 9.1% 2
answered question 22
skipped question 20

20f10



7. To what extent has the change in law made it more difficult to place students in co-ops?

Response

Percent
No difficulty [ ] 27.3%
Some difficulty | | 50.0%
A lot of difficulty [ ] 22.7%

answered question

skipped question

Response
Count

11

22

20

8. Have co-op employers commented about an increased burden placed on their staff due

to the restrictions on students using power-driven patient lifts?

Response
Percent
Yes | | 59.1%
No | 31.8%
Don't know [_] 9.1%

answered question

skipped question

Response
Count

13

22

20

9. Have any students in the school had to change job duties on co-op as a result of the

changein law?

Response
Percent
Yes [ | 22.7%
No | | 45.5%
Don't know | 31.8%

answered question

skipped question

30f 10

Response
Count

10

22

20



10. Are the students now doing more manual patient lifting due to the change in law

Response
Percent

No more manual lifting |

| 38.1%

Some more manual lifting |

| 57.1%

A lot more manual lifting  []

4.8%

answered question

skipped question

Response
Count

12

21

21

11. Are the students now using more non-power-driven patient lifts due to the change in

law?

Response
Percent

No more non-power lifts |

| 57.1%

Some more non-power lifts |

| 42.9%

A lot more non-power lifts

0.0%

answered question

skipped question

Response
Count

12

21

21

12. Has the school had to adjust the program or curriculum in any way due to the change in

law?

Response
Percent
Yes [ 9.5%
No | | 71.4%
Don'tknow [ ] 19.0%

If "Yes," please explain.

answered question

skipped question

4 0f 10

Response
Count

15

21

21



13. Have students raised any questions or concerns about not being able to use lifts alone?

Response
Percent
Yes | 36.4%
No | | 54.5%
Don't know [ ] 9.1%

If "Yes," please explain.

answered question

skipped question

14. Have employers raised any questions or concerns about not being able to have
students use lifts alone?

Response
Percent
Yes | | 40.9%
No | | 40.9%
Dontknow [ | 18.2%

If "Yes," please explain.

answered question

skipped question

Response

Count

12

22

20

Response
Count

22

20

15. Other than the patient lift restriction, are there any child labor law restrictions that

affect placing students in any co-ops?

Response
Percent
Yes | | 40.0%
No | | 33.3%
Dontknow [ ] 26.7%

If "Yes," please explain.

answered question

skipped question

50f 10

Response
Count

12

10

11

30

12



16. If you have additional comments, please share them below.

Response
Count
3
answered question 3
skipped question 39

17. Please select the title(s) that best describe the role(s) of those who completed the
survey. (select all that apply)

Response Response

Percent Count
Co-op Coordinator | 63.3% 19
Teacher/Instructor | | 40.0% 12
Other [ 6.7% 2
If "Other," please describe. 9
answered question 30
skipped question 12

6 of 10



Page 2, Q2. What type of establishments are students placed in? (check all that apply)

1 Developmental disabilites agencies, Dental offices Jun 4, 2012 9:29 AM
2 Child Care/day care facility Jun 1, 2012 7:38 AM
3 All above Jun 1, 2012 4:36 AM
4 adult day care workshop for developmentaly disabled adults child care center May 30, 2012 3:55 AM
5 Elementary school nurse May 29, 2012 7:57 AM
6 medical offices May 21, 2012 11:22 AM
7 Local doctors offices May 18, 2012 6:25 AM
8 Developmental Disabilities Facilities May 18, 2012 6:06 AM

7 of 10



Page 2, Q3. Approximately how many CNA training hours do students typically complete before beginning co-

op?

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20

21

40 plus

40 clinical hours in a long-term care facility
100

150

1000

2 years

1500

75 hours

1.5 years

270

25

150+

72

30 +

500

500

1036

150

Over 180 hours

students have their CNA before they go

Unknown

Jun 4, 2012 9:29 AM
Jun 4, 2012 7:37 AM
Jun 3, 2012 3:53 PM
Jun 1, 2012 7:38 AM
Jun 1, 2012 6:28 AM
Jun 1, 2012 4:36 AM
Jun 1, 2012 3:41 AM
May 31, 2012 12:29 PM
May 31, 2012 11:55 AM
May 29, 2012 7:57 AM
May 21, 2012 11:22 AM
May 21, 2012 10:55 AM
May 20, 2012 4:54 PM
May 18, 2012 9:24 AM
May 18, 2012 7:35 AM
May 18, 2012 7:34 AM
May 18, 2012 7:18 AM
May 18, 2012 6:25 AM
May 18, 2012 6:06 AM
May 17, 2012 12:13 PM

May 17, 2012 10:10 AM

Page 2, Q4. How do students learn how to use lifts for transferring patients? (check all that apply)

1

Students do hands on training in an offsite facility with the instructor

May 18, 2012 7:34 AM

Page 6, Q12. Has the school had to adjust the program or curriculum in any way due to the change in law?

The students are still getting jobs but many are getting jobs in Assisted Living
due to the law. | think now that they are allowing them to be the 2nd person in a
transfer it would be as big a deal.

We do explain the law.

Explaining the law and what they are and are not allowed to do

Often times, if a student has a resident who requires a lift, the teacher teams up

with the CNA who has the resident and the lift is completed- Our student is in the
room observing as we complete the lift care.

8 of 10

May 21, 2012 10:58 AM

May 18, 2012 7:36 AM
May 18, 2012 6:28 AM

May 18, 2012 6:12 AM



Page 6, Q13. Have students raised any questions or concerns about not being able to use lifts alone?

1 Lift are not be used alone in any circumstance Jun 4, 2012 9:31 AM
2 We explained the law to them previous to going into clinical Jun 4, 2012 7:42 AM
3 want to know why as they do not see them as being dangerous to themselves May 30, 2012 3:58 AM

4 Even after being trained and "checked off" and tested in class....they are being May 21, 2012 11:24 AM
given a hard time by employers because they can't use the equipment by law.

5 Students are concerned about the impact it has on employment May 21, 2012 10:58 AM

6 Lifts should never be used alone May 18, 2012 7:36 AM

Page 6, Q14. Have employers raised any questions or concerns about not being able to have students use lifts
alone?

1 Lifts are not to be operated alone in any circumstance Jun 4, 2012 9:31 AM
2 In the beginning, we had to explain the law to them. They no longer ask. Jun 4, 2012 7:42 AM
3 Employers have to modify the duties of students with the knowledge, but due to Jun 1, 2012 3:44 AM
laws cannot perfom them.
4 has put co-op placement in jeopardy. May 31, 2012 12:31 PM
5 Decreased employability May 21, 2012 11:24 AM
6 Employers are concerned May 21, 2012 10:58 AM
7 Lifts should never be used alone May 18, 2012 7:36 AM
8 When this law was enacted, we spoke to all of our facilities and they were willing  May 18, 2012 6:12 AM

to work with us to make our clinical experience happen. Yes it was much more
work, but we all pitched in and did it, we role modeled to our students that
compliance was important. We did notice, this "18" limit caused many nursing
homes to not hire co-op students. A nursing home who in the past hired 4-6
students, hired only |. The nursing homes have been very compliant due to the
safety issue and the law.
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Page 7, Q15. Other than the patient lift restriction, are there any child labor law restrictions that affect placing
students in any co-ops?

10

11

Not being able to work until 11pm can make it difficult to place students

Some placements will not take students until they are 18 years old or have
graduated.

Lift restrictions in auto and machine restrictions for culinary.
Chain saw use, Auto lifts

Not being able to work past 10pm since many 3-11pm shifts exist in medical
facilities

Some slight difficulty with hours during the weekday but most facilities work that
out.

diesel equipment and auto lifts

Employers sometimes need to be reminded about the 10pm restriction

The use of automotive lifts under supervision

Horticulture students, having been trained in the use the chainsaws,
woodchippers, and commerical mowers are not allowed to use this equipment
under a co-op placement.

Arborculture: chainsaws and chippers are viewed as part of the logging industry
and therefore, students under 18 cannot use them on coop. It would be great if

schools with arborculture Ch 74 programs could have some type of law change
that would allow students to work on coop jobs using these items.

Page 7, Q16. If you have additional comments, please share them below.

To the best of my knowledge, this restriction was lifted and or modified at the
end of last summer.

it seems like it should be a non issue, 2 people are required to use the lift, age
should not matter if one is propably trained as the lifts don't seem to poise such
a huge risk to anyone

| have one parent going to the state rep because their student, under 18, has
started his own treework business and purchased liability insurance in his name.
But he cannot use this equipment under a co-op experience (his business would
not be the co-op employer). Is this something that can happen? If so, with the
current laws | think something needs to change.

Jun 4, 2012 9:32 AM

Jun 4, 2012 7:43 AM

Jun 1, 2012 10:08 AM
Jun 1, 2012 6:31 AM

May 21, 2012 11:25 AM

May 21, 2012 10:58 AM

May 21, 2012 10:15 AM
May 18, 2012 7:37 AM
May 18, 2012 7:21 AM

May 17, 2012 10:37 AM

May 17, 2012 9:06 AM

Jun 4, 2012 9:32 AM

May 30, 2012 4:02 AM

May 17, 2012 10:37 AM

Page 7, Q17. Please select the title(s) that best describe the role(s) of those who completed the survey. (select all
that apply)

1

2

school counselor and Co-op. Coord.

vocational coordinator
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